Matt Kemp makes Padres history by hitting for cycle

Matt Kemp

When: August 14, 2015

Where: Coors Field, Colorado

What: On the 7,444th game in Padres history, outfielder Matt Kemp hit for the cycle. It only took 46 years.


First inning: Matt Kemp launches a two-run home run deep to center field.

Third inning: Kemp hits a single.

Seventh inning: Here comes the double, as Kemp hits a line drive (again) to center field.

Ninth inning: This one’s for all the marbles. It’s Kemp’s final at-bat, and it’s for the triple. He sends one deep to (you guessed it) center field, and it looks like it’s going to go yard, but it hits the wall instead. Kemp speeds up and just like that … Cycle, baby. CYCLE!!

Fun facts:

**The Padres had come up one hit short of a cycle 361 times. They’d finished a triple shy 258 times.

**The Miami Marlins are now the only remaining team in Major League Baseball to have never had a player hit for the cycle.

**The Padres can cross the cycle off their list, but they are still looking for that elusive no-hitter. They’re the only team in the league without one.

Listen to Ted Leitner’s radio broadcast call of the final part of the cycle — the ninth inning triple:


As you can imagine, it caused quite a stir in the Twitterverse:



Recently in San Diego Padres

World Team's Manuel Margot, of the San Diego Padres, takes a home run away from U.S. Team's Carson Kelly, of the St. Louis Cardinals, during the sixth inning of the All-Star Futures baseball game, Sunday, July 10, 2016, in San Diego. (AP Photo/Lenny Ignelzi)

Some of Padres top prospects finally arrive

Top Padres’ prospects Manuel Margot (No.2), Hunter Renfroe (No.3), Carlos Asuaje (No.20), and Austin Hedges on being called-up from Triple-A El Paso and making the most of their opportunity.Comments comments

Petco park cropped

Petco Park to host second round of 2017 WBC

Petco Park and San Diego will once again serve as a host for the World Baseball Classic. San Diego’s beautiful downtown ballpark, recently rated number one in the country by USA Today, will host second-round games from